FLORIDA TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

Ron DeSantis

Governor

Ron Howse, Chairman David Genson, Vice-Chairman John Browning Richard Burke Barbara Haselden Alex Lastra Hung Mai Russell (Rusty) Roberts

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: May 1, 2025

CONTACT: Ralph Yoder (850) 414-4105

Four Transportation Commissioners Confirmed by the Florida Senate

Tallahassee – During the final week of the 2025 regular legislative session, four members of the Florida Transportation Commission who had recently been appointed or reappointed by Governor Ron DeSantis were confirmed unanimously by the Florida Senate.

Confirmed were Commissioners John Browning, Jr. of Palatka, David Genson of Naples, Barbara Haselden of St. Petersburg, and Hung Mai of Lutz.

Browning is the VP of New Projects for The Goodman Company, headquartered in West Palm Beach, Florida; founded in 1960 in Allentown, Pennsylvania. It has actively and successfully developed regional malls and power centers throughout Pennsylvania, Florida, New Jersey, Virginia and Ohio for over five decades. The company was an early pioneer in the development and management of regional and super-regional malls. John is also the President of Browning Packing and Browning Consulting. Appointed for a term beginning December 23, 2020, and ending September 30, 2023.

Genson is President of Development with Barron Collier Companies, one of the largest diversified companies in Florida with successful enterprises in agriculture, land development, and minerals. David has been with Barron Collier Companies for 22 years and has been involved with numerous commercial, industrial and land development projects across Florida, including the Town of Ave Maria. He also currently serves on the Collier County Housing Authority which he has served on since 2013. Appointed for a term beginning December 23, 2020, and ending September 30, 2022.

Haselden is a seasoned Life and Health insurance broker, serving as the president and owner of Barbara L. Haselden, Inc. insurance agency based in St. Petersburg, Florida. In 2010, she became actively engaged in local transportation policy, with a keen focus on transit and local government operations. She now serves on the Pinellas Suncoast Transit Authority (PSTA) Board of Directors, bringing her experience and perspective on transportation policy and community needs to the role.

Mai is the president of H.T. Mai Inc. and has over 42 years of experience in civil engineering, specializing in land development, infrastructure planning, environmental analysis, and water resource management in Florida. He has extensive expertise in environmental permitting, regulatory compliance, and public engagement. Mr. Mai has served on multiple boards, including the Hillsborough River Basin Board, City-County Planning Commission, and Metropolitan Planning

FLORIDA TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 605 Suwannee Street, MS-9, Tallahassee, FL 32399-0450 Office (850) 414-4105 | Fax (850) 414-4234 www.ftc.state.fl.us

FLORIDA TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

Organization, and previously served as Vice Chair of the Tampa Port Authority Board of Commissioners. A former president of the American Society of Civil Engineers - West Coast Branch, he remains active in this organization as well as other professional and civic organizations. He holds a civil engineering degree from the University of Saigon.

About the Commission

The Florida Transportation Commission is an appointed body, first established in 1987 by the legislature, that provides performance, production, and fiscal oversight of the Florida Department of Transportation, and makes transportation policy recommendations to the Governor and the Legislature.

The mission of the Florida Transportation Commission is to provide leadership in meeting Florida's transportation needs through policy guidance on issues of statewide importance and by maintaining oversight and public accountability for the Department of Transportation and other statutorily specified transportation authorities.

More information may be found at http://www.ftc.state.fl.us